Author Topic: Boolean Union/Difference - Changes my model  (Read 168 times)

jonelli

• View Profile
Boolean Union/Difference - Changes my model
« on: January 27, 2018, 04:14:58 PM »
Hey All,
First off, I'm a total noob at MeshMixer, and have been searching around for info on this and haven't found exactly what I need yet. So, if you offer me any suggestions, please be as detailed as possible.  I'm learning to the use the software very slowly.

I have STL models that I would like to split and then add my own joiner "biscuit" to reassemble them after printing. 
I know how to split and export the separate pieces just fine, and that works great. 

When I try to add a dowel-like shape to one of the parts as a boolean union or a boolean difference (to create the opposite hole), Meshmixer does some kind of re-rendering of the original item and drastically changes it.  Edit>Combine works for the parts I need to be solid, but how do I make a "hole" using that shape inside the other piece?  As far as I can tell the only way I know of is boolean difference.  And when I do it, I get changes to my model as below.

Could someone please give me some ideas or instructions on how to prevent this?  Or tell me a better way to do what I am trying to achieve?
Here's a couple of images to describe what I am doing:
PuzzlePiece.png - the whole split piece with the joining shape I added
Outtie.png - Half of the split piece with the joining shape I added
Outtieafterboolean.png - What happens after I use the boolean union function.  Similar things happen if I use Difference also.
« Last Edit: January 27, 2018, 04:39:15 PM by jonelli »

MagWeb

• Administrator
    • View Profile
Re: Boolean Union/Difference - Changes my model
« Reply #1 on: January 27, 2018, 06:00:53 PM »
Hi,

just a hint @ your rendering mode: