Author Topic: Problem generating complex  (Read 122 times)

mikeymakesit

• View Profile
Problem generating complex
« on: January 06, 2018, 12:29:07 PM »
Hi there, I'm relatively new to Meshmixer.  I've had some success generating complexes.  I don't know the terminology but I'll do my best to explain where I think I'm repeatedly having trouble.  When I create a face group that only touches 1 set of adjacent triangles I have no trouble.  Every time I try to generate a complex based on face groups where there are multiple sets of adjacent triangles it seems like it fails.  I don't understand why.

If anyone can explain 1) why it doesn't work at all, or 2) what I'm doing wrong, I'd greatly appreciate it!

In this model I've selected all of the figurine.  Notice the selection ends along the steering wheel, as well as along the base of the figure on the cart.  First I create a face group from the selection:

Next I generate complex:

Then I see two loops I can choose from.  Actually double-clicking on one of them selects both automatically.  I don't know if it should select both loops, maybe because they're part of the same face group.

Here you see the black areas where new surfaces will be created.  So far so good I believe:

Here I am ready to split the generated complex:

Finally, here's the split objects.  Unfortunately the figurine has not been split from the cart.  Instead there's the original mesh and a single new one like an interface layer on the steering wheel shaft.  There's no corresponding surface under the seat of the figurine.

Any feedback appreciated.  Again I was expecting the originally selected figurine to be split into its own mesh after generating/splitting the complex but that didn't happen.  Thanks in advance for any advice!
« Last Edit: January 06, 2018, 12:35:28 PM by mikeymakesit »

MagWeb

• Administrator
    • View Profile
Re: Problem generating complex
« Reply #1 on: January 06, 2018, 05:11:20 PM »