Author Topic: Sharp Inside Corner Cleanup  (Read 634 times)

cadman777

• View Profile
Sharp Inside Corner Cleanup
« on: January 04, 2018, 06:51:00 PM »
Hi,
I'm new to MM & this forum.
Been trying to learn MM, which is an excellent program!
One thing I keep having difficulty with is cleaning-up a sharp edge created by flat surfaces that connecting together.
Even more difficult is cleaning up an inside corner where 3 flat surfaces connect.
Is there a simple way to do this?
I couldn't find a thread on this, so if there is one, could someone please link me to it?
Thanx ... Chris

MagWeb

• Administrator
    • View Profile
Re: Sharp Inside Corner Cleanup
« Reply #1 on: January 06, 2018, 07:27:06 AM »
Hi Chris,

reconstructing sharp edges is one of the hardest tasks dealing with arbitrary meshes.
MM doesn't come with a "hard edge reconstruction" tool but there are several workflows managing such a task.

If it comes to edges where plane neighbour surfaces meet this is my favourite workflow:
1. SELECT regions where you are pretty sure that they are actually plane;
2. Run SELECT/Edit/FitPrimitives. Set the tool to create a plane surface on each selection (for parameters see attached image). Drag the white cubes in the widgets' enters to sale up the planes until they intersect.
3. Activate all resulting planes and combine them to one object
4. In ObjectBrowser click its magnet icon to set it as a target object (Note: By default a target will be rendered transparent. You may change this (as done here) via menu:View/TransparantTarget). Activate your source object and SELECT the ugly edge regions.
5. Run SELECT/Edit/AttractToTarget with the shown parameters and Accept
6. You'll get nice edges.

You can do the same on outside edges.....
« Last Edit: January 06, 2018, 08:00:44 AM by MagWeb »
I'm just a user as you are. Being no Autodesk employee: I do not know where this road will lead to, nor do I claim to've all stuff got right.

cadman777

• View Profile