Author Topic: How to cut a hollow object in half but have closed off ends?  (Read 120 times)

TronLives

• View Profile
How to cut a hollow object in half but have closed off ends?
« on: January 03, 2018, 01:53:46 AM »

I'm very new to this.

I have a hollow object that looks solid from the outside. For example, a hollow cylinder. I want to cut this cylinder in half but I want each half to have closed off ends, so they look like two half-sized solid cylinders instead of two buckets.

How would I do this? Is there a way to fill the inside of the cylinder before cutting? Or a way to close off the ends of the two halves after cutting?

The 3D object I'm using is a vehicle (TRON light cycle - ENCOM 786) that has a very detailed inside but looks solid from the outside. I'm going to be using this for pepakura which prints the outside of an object. I need to have the ends closed off after cutting so pepakura doesn't wrap into the inside. Below is an example of what it looks like when it is cut in half.

Thank you

MagWeb

• Administrator
    • View Profile
Re: How to cut a hollow object in half but have closed off ends?
« Reply #1 on: January 03, 2018, 05:08:56 AM »
@ your cylinder example:
Meshobjects do not know the term "solid". There are just surfaces which may be "watertight" or owning some oben boundary.
A hollow object simply combines two surfaces where the outer one's normals point to the outside and the inner one to the inside.
So if there's no error in the mesh (e.g. some connection between inner and outer shell you can split you object into two separated objects (EDIT/SeparateShells).
In your case you want to keep just the outer shell so you may discard the inner one.
Cutting the outer shell will give you wat you want.
(If you want to make the halves hollow you'd need to run EDIT/MakeHollow now)

@ your vehicle model:
You need to repair your model's mesh error before doing anything else.