Author Topic: Creating Slices in Meshmixer 3.2?  (Read 147 times)

sd_dreamcrystal

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
    • View Profile
Creating Slices in Meshmixer 3.2?
« on: September 19, 2017, 09:59:33 PM »
Hello all!
So I had an idea that I wanted to do in Meshmixer but I can't seem to find the right tool! I wanted to slice up an object but keep all the slices and use them as a kind of stack puzzle like the image below where each layer is a flat surface and you work your way up

This image is not mine but we do have that exact puzzle sitting in our house!

I saw at one point Meshmixer had away to "make slices" from the edit menu but I can't seem to find it in the current version...
Did they remove this option or is there another way of slicing up a model (without using plane cut!)?

MagWeb

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1198
    • View Profile
Re: Creating Slices in Meshmixer 3.2?
« Reply #1 on: September 20, 2017, 05:26:56 AM »
Sorry, MakeSlices is broken and disabled since 3.1.... (since beta 3.1.106).

The only alternative is PlaneCut with CutType Slice(KeepBoth) and enabling snapping in the widget.

I'm just a user as you are. Being no Autodesk employee: I do not know where this road will lead to, nor do I claim to've all stuff got right.

sd_dreamcrystal

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
    • View Profile
Re: Creating Slices in Meshmixer 3.2?
« Reply #2 on: September 20, 2017, 07:32:42 AM »
Ah I see, it would have been nice to have the other. PlaneCut can be so laggy with certain objects due to mesh detailing.