Author Topic: Separating a model into different parts for multi material 3d printing  (Read 257 times)

searcher

• View Profile
Hi,

I have the following model of a foot insole that I would like to separate into multiple models for multi material (or more specifically multi density) 3d printing.

I would like to separate the model into 3 parts:
1. The outer 1mm perimeter of the insole (see image below).
2. The top 2mm of the insole (accross the whole top surface which isn't flat).
3. The rest.

The first part would look a bit like this (except it wouldn't be a foot shape)...

I'm new to Meshmixer. Is this possible? What features of Meshmixer do I need to use?

Thanks for your help!

MagWeb

• Administrator
    • View Profile
Re: Separating a model into different parts for multi material 3d printing
« Reply #1 on: September 07, 2017, 04:18:04 PM »
Could be done in MM but might be easier if you do it in your CAD app where you built that insole.

In MM you need to define Face Groups of the surfaces for part 1 and 2. You might do this (what's best depends on your mesh's triangle structure) via EDIT/GenerateFaceGroups (see:http://www.mmmanual.com/generate-face-groups/) or manually via a selection in SELECT/Modify/CreateFaceGroup.

Now, if there's a consistent FaceGroup for the footprint (part 2) you can use EDIT/GenerateComplex. DoubleClicking this part2-surface will create an complex inlay of this surface. You can define its depth clicking on the inlay's seam and setting the desired depth (2mm) in the tool's flyout "OffsetDistance"... (see: http://www.mmmanual.com/complex-tools/)

Don't think the Complex tool will work for your part 1. So you'll have to go the Boolean way. To get the right result needs extractions/extrusions of the outer almost "vertical" surfaces to construct a subtrahend object.......
(could you post the file or send me a link?... might be much easier to explain....)