Author Topic: Meshmixer 3.1 - Layout/Packing problem  (Read 540 times)

amagro

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
    • View Profile
Meshmixer 3.1 - Layout/Packing problem
« on: April 05, 2017, 11:31:19 AM »
Hi,

Something is wrong with the Layout/Packing in the new MM3.1.
Never had this problem with the previous versions.

Please see the attachment picture.


Thanks


MagWeb

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1176
    • View Profile
Re: Meshmixer 3.1 - Layout/Packing problem
« Reply #1 on: April 06, 2017, 05:41:26 AM »
Hmm can't find some issue on the Packing tool here. Maybe you did not setup your printer to be compatible to 3.1 yet?

Since 3.1 you have to define the printer that way (from FAQs):

A sample printer definition is included in meshmixer folder, by default installed in Documents\meshmixer\printers. Copy and edit custom_printers.xml to add your own printers. They appear under Custom in printers panel. You can have multiple printers in the same file. Note that the custom_printers.xml file itself may be replaced by future installers, so put your printer in a copy!
I'm just a user as you are. Being no Autodesk employee: I do not know where this road will lead to, nor do I claim to've all stuff got right.

amagro

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
    • View Profile
Re: Meshmixer 3.1 - Layout/Packing problem
« Reply #2 on: April 06, 2017, 09:47:12 AM »
It also happens with the printers that came with the MM3.1.
In this case was with the Makerbot Replicator Dual.
« Last Edit: April 06, 2017, 10:50:05 AM by amagro »

MagWeb

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1176
    • View Profile
Re: Meshmixer 3.1 - Layout/Packing problem
« Reply #3 on: April 06, 2017, 11:02:39 AM »
Could you try something like this with the default bunny and same settings as in image above?
I'm just a user as you are. Being no Autodesk employee: I do not know where this road will lead to, nor do I claim to've all stuff got right.

amagro

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
    • View Profile
Re: Meshmixer 3.1 - Layout/Packing problem
« Reply #4 on: April 06, 2017, 11:32:59 AM »
With the bunny I didn't had any problems, but this not resolve the issue that I'm having.:/
Is possible to reinstal the previous version of MM - 3.0 ?

MagWeb

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1176
    • View Profile
Re: Meshmixer 3.1 - Layout/Packing problem
« Reply #5 on: April 07, 2017, 05:26:35 AM »
Just another experiment:
If you run Transform on your objects (before  LayoutPacking): Is the center of the widget at the center of the object's bounding box or in some offset?
I'm just a user as you are. Being no Autodesk employee: I do not know where this road will lead to, nor do I claim to've all stuff got right.

amagro

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
    • View Profile
Re: Meshmixer 3.1 - Layout/Packing problem
« Reply #6 on: April 07, 2017, 06:11:23 AM »
Yes, the widget stay at the center of all objects.